Ballin’ on a Budget

This post isn’t so much about sharing a specific recipe nor does only it pertain to those who have tight finances. This is more about encouraging people to utilize those leftovers or things in the pantry that are waiting to get thrown away. You don’t have to be a grand master chef, and you don’t need a lot of fancy ingredients. The ingredients can be simple, and the meal can be quick and easy, but still be delicious! This way, we can stop from wasting so much of our food! You know how sometimes a recipe only calls for half the bag of pasta and the other half of the pasta sits around in the cupboards? For dinner tonight I boiled up some extra pasta I had. I threw in some frozen peas, chopped green onions, minced garlic and chopped, cooked pork. All these ingredients were leftovers, just sitting in my fridge on the brink of being tossed out. I tossed it all in some soy sauce, sesame seed oil and a little bit of rice vinegar. I must say I was quite pleased with the results!
IMAG2052
Quick note** Add any combination of soy sauce, rice vinegar and/or sesame seed oil to a meat or pasta dish and you have the makings for a great and tasty asian inspired recipe. These flavors together never fail-
especially if you add in some fresh garlic!!

Anyway I hope this may have inspired you to jazz up some of the leftovers you have sitting around in your fridge or pantry. Sometimes I don’t even eat leftovers because I’m just tired of having the same thing again and again, so this was a nice way to switch things up on my taste buds, while also being less wasteful! Happy cooking everybody!

Leave a Reply

