Chicken Fajita Pizza

I know I have been slacking on this. In fact, I guiltily admit that I have mostly been living off of Subway. But now my school district is on spring break for two weeks so I thought this would be a good time to catch up on my cooking!

I saw this recipe on Pinterest and it sounded and looked scrumptious. I like pizza, but my husband LOVES pizza. If he could eat one food for the rest of his life, it would probably be pizza. He knows that pizza isn’t my favorite choice for dinner, so when we do eat it, it is usually to curb his craving. However, this recipe looked so good that I had to try it. This pizza was DELICIOUS! Probably one of the best pizzas I’ve ever had. Salsa in place of marinara sauce?? Brilliant! I also love that this pizza is not greasy but rather fresh and full of flavor! This is one recipe that I suggest you try STAT!!

Chicken-Fajita-Pizza7

CHICKEN FAJITA PIZZA

Ingredients:

1/4 cup fresh lime juice

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1 tsp. minced garlic

1 tsp. chili powder

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

1 lb. (2) boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1/2-inch pieces

1 (12-inch) prepared pizza crust

2 cups chunky-style salsa

2 cups (8 oz.) 4 Cheese Mexican Blend

1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper

1 15 oz. can black beans, drained

1/2 red onion, cut into thin slices

2 Tbsp. sliced green onion or minced cilantro

Instructions:

Combine lime juice, oil, garlic and spices in a large bowl. Add chicken and toss to coat. Marinate 15 minutes, or up to one day, covered in the refrigerator.

Cook chicken in large preheated skillet over medium-high heat 5-7 minutes, or until no longer pink; drain if necessary.

Place crust on baking sheet or pizza pan. Spread salsa over crust; top with chicken, cheese, bell pepper, black beans and red onion. Bake in preheated 400°F oven 15 minutes, or until cheese is melted. Sprinkle with green onions or cilantro. Serve with sour cream, if desired.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

