Greek Dressing/Marinade

I love salads because they are easy, light and refreshing. Best of all, you can make as much or little as you want with whatever you like in it! One of my favorites is Greek Salad. For the salad component I used Romaine lettuce, cherry tomatos, cucumbers, red onion and feta cheese (people usually like to add olives as well). I also topped it off with some sliced chicken. Of course you can put your salad together however you like best. Now for the dressing! Greek Salad dressing is light, tangy and a little herby. If you aren’t big on salads, you can also use this as a marinade (goes great with chicken or seafood) I actually used it as a marinade for the chicken I put on my salad.

Quick tip: Chicken is always something I  have on hand. When I buy chicken breasts at the store I will take them home and bag each breast individually in zip locks and then stick them in the freezer. Especially since I am just cooking for myself, it’s easier to thaw individual portions at a time to use whenever I need.

image

GREEK DRESSING/MARINADE

Ingredients
1/2 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1 cup olive oil
2-3 cloves pressed or minced garlic
1 1/2 tsp dried oregano
pinch of dried thyme
big pinch of salt and fresh ground pepper

Instructions
Combine lemon juice, vinegar, oregano, thyme and salt and pepper in bowl. Using a whisk, slowly stream in olive oil and whisk into vinegar mixture. You will see it thicken up a bit (emulsifying) while combining. Store in a jar with a tight lid in the refrigerator after using. Always give the dressing jar a couple of shakes before serving. In my opinion, it is best at room temperature.

image

If you have left over veggies and feta you can save them to make pitas tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

